Used by permission under GNU 1.2 License. appears at https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:EucharistELCA.JPG
Used by permission under GNU 1.2 License. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:EucharistELCA.JPG
On July 8, 2017, the Vatican issued a letter to all bishops in the Roman Catholic Church, worldwide, reminding them of their responsibilities under Canon Law to ensure that “proper matter” is being used for the Eucharist (the celebration of the Lord’s Supper) in the dioceses under their supervision. Proper matter for the bread to be used in the Eucharist, per centuries of Roman Catholic sacramental doctrine, is unleavened wheaten bread with no other grains or adulterants present. The letter clarified that while low-gluten wheat wafers may be used, gluten-free wafers, which are made with no wheat at all (because wheat contains gluten!) were not. click below to read more...